MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Prairie Hills District

  • October 2017 roundtable presentation is here
  • Internet Recharter screen by screen instructions are here!
  • Sioux Council Community Partnerships for 2017-2018 are here!  Keep checking back for continuous add-ins!
  • Leadership Recruiting Resources
  1. Family Talent Survey
  2. Boy Scout 100 Point Form
  3. Cub Scout 100 Point Form

Prairie Hills District serves Scouts from Minnehaha, Lincoln, and Turner Counties in South Dakota, Rock and Nobles Counties in Minnesota, and Lyon County in Iowa.

Prairie Hills District Map Adobe Portable Document Format [615 kB]

District Leadership and Professional Staff Hours

Below is a list of key leaders in the Prairie Hills district.  They serve as your first contact and resource for questions and concerns.  For other positions on the district committee, please click on "district committee" to the right, then click on "committee roster". For commissioner help, refer to the link below.

Position Description Name Email Phone
District Chair Oversee all district operations Mike Dowling 605 321 6901
District Commissioner Oversee relationships with units Shelly Metzger Click to send email 406 461 3432
Overall Friends of Scouting Chair Oversee all Friends of Scouting Jim Beddow
Family Friends of Scouting Chair Coordinate family presentations and presenters Doug Hagen
Popcorn Chair Oversee popcorn sales in the district Dan Johnson 605 610 5086
Membership Chair Contact for recruiting and new units Peter Shaw 314 302 4407
Program Chair Oversee activities, advancement, training and camping Scott Rasmusson 605 695 8835
Activities and Civic Service Oversee activities and service John Behurek Click to send email 605 310 9274
Advancement Chair Cub/Boy/Venturing Advancement Steve Schempp Click to send email 240 434 6504
Eagle Chair Eagle Boards and project approvals Glenn Voss 605 212 7722
Training Chair Unit leader training and training programs Jason Braucht 507 597 3344
Camping Chair Promote Boy Scout and Cub Scout long-term and day camps Mark Poppe 605 362 2588

WHO IS MY Commissioner?  A unit commissioner is someone who will help answer your questions, improve your meetings, and generally make your program better.  They are also a "go between", between you and professional staff.  Make your commissioner your FIRST call when you have questions!

In case of emergencies or you are not able to reach your intended contact, please contact a member of the professional staff






District Director

Oversee all operations of the Prairie Hills District

Jason Cruse

605 323 0744 (o)

402 575 0394 (c)

District Associate

Membership, relationships, Friends of Scouting

Shaina Smykle

605 323 0746 (o)

605 759 1524 (c)

District Associate Program, Popcorn, unit relationshipsChar Faulstich

605 323 0740 (o)

605 759 0006 (c)


 Upcoming Late Nights:

Tuesday, Nov 28

Monday, Dec 4

Wednesday, Dec 13

Thursday, Dec 21



Upcoming events:

Klondike Derby, February 10, 2018

Cub Olympics, February 24, 2018

District Dinner, March 17, 2018

District Pinewood Derby Championship, April 7, 2018

Spring Camporee, May 4-6, 2018


Get up to the minute information on HLS!  Follow us on social media!



Copyright © 2005-2017 Sioux Council, BSA - All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®